While more countries continue to lift travel limits, Canada and Mexico announced they are extending restrictions on U.S. travelers as coronavirus cases continue to rise, joining a long list of countries that aren’t ready to welcome back American visitors. 

Canada and Mexico have extended border closures limiting non-essential travel to October 21, although U.S. travelers are permitted to fly into Mexico. 

In the Caribbean, the Cayman Islands, the British Virgin Islands, Guyana, Trinidad and Tobago, Suriname, St. Kitts and Nevis, and Montserrat are all off-limits to all tourists. 

The European Union still has not put the U.S. on its “safe list,” and 24 member countries are blocking U.S. travel, however, Croatia, Ireland and Malta are all allowing visitors despite the EU’s recommendations. 

China and Thailand are still not allowing American visitors as the majority of Asia continues to keep international guests at bay. 

Similar restrictions mean tourists can’t enter most countries in Central America, South America, Africa and the Middle East.

Japan and the Bahamas, which previously blocked all U.S. visitors, have eased up restrictions, though only U.S. citizens with resident or student status in Japan can enter the country. 

Though many places are off-limits, the list of countries Americans are able to visit has gradually lengthened over the past couple of months. Data from CNN shows at least 45 countries are now open to U.S. citizens, though many have varying levels of restrictions. Costa Rica, for example, requires a negative Covid-19 test result within 48 hours of travel. The United Kingdom requires travelers to self-isolate for two weeks.

In October, South Africa, St. Kitts and Nevis, Thailand and Peru will all open their doors to international travelers for the first time since lockdowns began. 

Source: https://news.google.com/__i/rss/rd/articles/CBMimQFodHRwczovL3d3dy5mb3JiZXMuY29tL3NpdGVzL2plbWltYW1jZXZveS8yMDIwLzA5LzE4L2NhbmFkYS1tZXhpY28tZXh0ZW5kLXJlc3RyaWN0aW9ucy1vbi11cy12aXNpdG9ycy1oZXJlLWFyZS1hbGwtdGhlLWNvdW50cmllcy1jdXJiaW5nLWFtZXJpY2FuLXRyYXZlbC_SAZ0BaHR0cHM6Ly93d3cuZm9yYmVzLmNvbS9zaXRlcy9qZW1pbWFtY2V2b3kvMjAyMC8wOS8xOC9jYW5hZGEtbWV4aWNvLWV4dGVuZC1yZXN0cmljdGlvbnMtb24tdXMtdmlzaXRvcnMtaGVyZS1hcmUtYWxsLXRoZS1jb3VudHJpZXMtY3VyYmluZy1hbWVyaWNhbi10cmF2ZWwvYW1wLw?oc=5

News – Canada, Mexico Extend Restrictions On U.S. Visitors: Here Are All The Countries Curbing American Travel