Hawaii’s Kilauea volcano erupted from Sunday (December 20) night local time, with dramatic lava fountains and huge bursts of gas and steam emitted by the Halemaʻumaʻu summit crater, the Hawaii Volcano Observatory (HVO), part of the U, to be fired S. Geological Survey (USGS), reports

Although the shield volcano is one of the most active volcanoes on earth, constantly spewing lava out of its crevices, the recent eruption is much more dramatic than the “background” lava flows that are constantly flowing out of volcanic fissures

“For the past few weeks, the USGS Hawaiian Volcano Observatory has recorded soil deformation and earthquake rates that have exceeded background levels at the summit of Kilauea Volcano and in the Upper East Rift Zone,” the observatory said in a statement on Sunday. p>

Just after 9:30 p.m. HST (2:30 a.m. EST, 7:30 a.m. UTC), the volcano observatory lit up in the crater just before the eruption began at the summit of Kilauea in the walls of the crater filled with water was filled, several cracks opened Sizzling lava poured through the cracks into the lake, causing the water to boil away as it was replaced by the molten rock from the crater’s northern crevice, sending out a giant lava well that stretched over 50 meters, the HVO reported >

About an hour later, at 2236 a.m. HST (3:36 am EST, 8:36 am UTC), a 4The magnitude 4 earthquake shook the ground beneath the southern flank of the volcano.The center of the earthquake was approximately 6 kilometers deep and approximately 8 kilometers deep14 km south of Fern Forest in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park According to HVO, more than 30 magnitude 4 or greater earthquakes have struck Kilauea’s southern flank in the past 20 years Most of these are due to the abrupt movement of the southern flank moving southeast across the oceanic crust

“HVO continues to monitor Kīlauea as the situation is developing rapidly with the outbreak this evening at the Kīlauea Summit,” said David Phillips, the HVO scientist in charge, in the statement

The last dramatic eruption occurred in the spring of 2018 when the floor of the Pu’u ‘Ō’ō crater on the east side of the volcano’s fissure zone occurred on Sept. April collapsed and pushed magma underground to the southeast, Live Science reported on April 3 May a magnitude 50 earthquake struck the Big Island near the Pu’u ‘Ō’ō crater This tremor caused lava to race through residential areas in the Puna district of the Big Island. This was followed by mandatory evacuations of the subdivisions Leilani Estates and Lanipuna Gardens

Live Science is part of Future US Inc, an international media group and leading digital publisher. Visit our company page

Kilauea

World News – USA – Hawaii’s Kilauea volcano erupts with dramatic fountains of lava

Source: https://www.livescience.com/hawaii-kilauea-volcano-erupts-earthquakes.html